Stoag logo
Hotline24-hour HOTLINE: 0800 6 50 40 30** free of charge from all German networks
Reach beautiful places with the STOAG

Beautiful places

STOAG - your partner for beautiful places

From the Middle Ages to the modern age, from aristocratic residences to romantic workers' estates in the Ruhr area, from fascinating industrial panoramas to lush green spaces - Oberhausen is versatile and has a variety of delicacies for different tastes. Regardless of whether you are a tourist or a local explorer, our drivers will take you straight to the most interesting and beautiful places in our city. Whether it's the Holten Fort from 1307 or the Rehberger Bridge "Slinky Springs to Fame", the youngest attraction in Oberhausen, the STOAG lines stop at all the city's sights for you! Just get in and be impressed!

 

Compiled for you: Our 12 top excursion tips

Oberhausen gasometer brightly colored at night
Oberhausen gasometer brightly colored at night

 

The Oberhausen gasometer in the CentrO is at the same time the city's landmark and a symbol of the structural change in the Ruhr area. The former coke oven gas storage facility, built in 1929, is today probably the most extraordinary exhibition hall in Europe. The gasometer itself is always an event. The inside of the steel giant offers a unique spatial experience. The 7 to 8-fold echo leaves the visitor amazed. A glass panoramic elevator inside the gasometer goes under the dome. The entire western Ruhr area lies at your feet from the roof. The steel giant has been voted one of the most popular places in Germany by viewers of the ZDF program "Our Best - The Germans' Favorite Places".

The Oberhausen Gasometer is currently closed due to urgently needed renovations. The next big exhibition is planned for spring 2021.

Website URL

Address:

Arenastr. 11, 46047 Oberhausen Tel: 0208 8503730

LOOKING FOR CONNECTION

Outside view of Oberhausen Castle with a work of art in the foreground
Outside view of Oberhausen Castle with a work of art in the foreground

 

Located in the romantic Kaisergarten and within walking distance of the Gasometer and CentrO, Oberhausen Castle is the place for fine arts in Oberhausen. In an ambitious, alternating exhibition program, the Ludwig Galerie located there presents loans from all over the world in the spacious rooms of the classical palace complex.

The Ludwig Collection, one of the largest private collections linked to Oberhausen via the international network of Ludwig museums is presented here under unusual and overarching themes. With gods, heroes and idols, 1998, the world of vessels - from antiquity to Picasso, 2005 or Living Stones - nature as an artist, in 2007 such exhibition projects received much attention from visitors and the press.

The popular gallery on the other hand, it is dedicated to the presentation of illustration, poster art, caricature, comics, photography, etc., which is commonly assigned to the applied area. Important positions such as Gottfried Helnwein and Manfred Deix, but also Wilhelm Busch were shown. Great photographers like Peter Lindbergh or Jim Rakete could and can be optimally staged in the spacious exhibition rooms.

The landmark gallery deals with the structural change in the region, the Ruhr area. Landmarks such as winding towers, chimneys or ironworks that once shaped the face of the district are disappearing. Others like the gasometer in Oberhausen or the winding tower of the Zechezollverein in Essen have become new landmarks. The exhibition projects and outdoor programs accompany this process.

Information on current exhibitions, opening times and admission prices can be found at:

Website URL

Address:

LUDWIGGALERIE Oberhausen Castle
Konrad-Adenauer-Allee 46,
46049 Oberhausen

looking for connection

The LVR Industrial Museum at dusk
The LVR Industrial Museum at dusk

 

The LVR-Industriemuseum Oberhausen, opposite the west exit of the Oberhausen main station, shows an exhibition on 150 years of iron and steel history on the Rhine and Ruhr. In the former rolling hall of the Altenberg zinc factory, nine exhibition units lead through the world of iron and the mining companies. The range of topics ranges from the emergence of the iron and steel industry around the middle of the 19th century, technical developments, working conditions, political and economic interdependencies in the industry in times of war and peace, to the structural change of our day.

The museum is currently closed due to renovation work until 20232. During this time, the Peter-Behrens-Bau is used for exhibitions.

Website URL

Address:

LVR industrial museum
Hansastrasse 20
46049 Oberhausen

Opening hours:

Tue - Sun: 10 a.m. - 17 p.m.

looking for connection

Front view of the Peter-Behrens-Bau in Oberhausen
Front view of the Peter-Behrens-Bau in Oberhausen

 

The central warehouse for Gutehoffnungshütte Oberhausen, completed in 1925, is one of the most striking industrial building complexes of the twenties. The Peter-Behrens-Bau - an industrial historical monument of European standing - houses the central depot of the LVR industrial museum on an area of ​​several thousand square meters.

Website URL

Address:

Essener Strasse 80
46047 Oberhausen
LVR industrial museum
Tel: 02234 9921 555-

looking for connection

View of the lake in the Kaisergarten Oberhausen
View of the lake in the Kaisergarten Oberhausen

 

The Kaisergarten is located in the middle of Oberhausen in picturesque surroundings. The 28 hectare park offers the whole family many opportunities to spend their free time. Forest and meadow areas, through which beautiful walking paths lead, blend harmoniously with the pond landscape and animal enclosure. More than 120 species of animals can be observed in the zoo - the petting zoo is particularly popular with children. There are also children's playgrounds and a pony riding track for the little ones. Entry to the Kaisergarten and the zoo is free.

Address:

Konrad-Adenauer-Allee 46,
46049 Oberhausen

looking for connection

 

From the Kaisergarten to the Emscher Island - "Slinky Springs to Fame": The bridge by the Frankfurt artist Tobias Rehberger is the youngest attraction in Oberhausen. The bridge sculpture in the Kaisergarten directly at Oberhausen Castle resembles a rope thrown over the water, light, wild and irregular - like a swinging spiral. At first glance, the 496 aluminum arches that strikingly enclose the 406-meter-long bridge over the Rhine-Herne Canal catch the eye. You are the namesake for "Slinky Springs to Fame". Rehberger had the famous spiral toy, the running spring "Slinky" - developed by the American mechanic Richard James by chance around 1945 - in mind when he submitted his first bridge design.
 

Website URL

Address:

Konrad-Adenauer-Allee 46,
46049 Oberhausen

looking for connection

Outside view of the St. Antony Hut in Oberhausen
Outside view of the St. Antony Hut in Oberhausen

 

A little hidden on the edge of Oberhausen-Osterfeld is a half-timbered building, which is picturesquely reflected in the pond of the Elpenbach. The visitor does not suspect heavy industry here, and yet he stands in front of the only remaining structural evidence of the St. Antony-Hütte, the "cradle of the Ruhr industry". Since 1758, not only pig iron has been produced at the St. Antony-Hütte. In the foundries and molding shops, cast goods for everyday use were also made. Today only the residential and office building that was built in the same year remains, the former home of the hut director, in which a permanent exhibition informs about the eventful history of the St. Antony hut: After all, the first ironworks in the Ruhr area is considered to be the nucleus of the global corporation GHH (Gute -Hope Hut).

In 2010 the opening of the first industrial archeological park in Germany followed, which made the excavations around the "cradle of the Ruhr industry" accessible to the public, protected from wind and weather by a daring steel roof.
 

Website URL

Address:

Antoniestrasse 32-34,
46119 Oberhausen
Tel: 02234 9921 555-

Opening hours:

Museum and Industrial Archaeological Park:
Tue - Fri: 10 a.m. - 17 p.m. Sat + Sun: 11 a.m. - 18 p.m.

looking for connection

Eisenheim Oberhausen
Eisenheim Oberhausen

 

The streets of the Eisenheim settlement with 39 original semi-detached houses offer an exciting insight into the way of life of the steelmakers in the Ruhr area at that time. In the Museum Eisenheim - formerly the wash house of this oldest workers' settlement in the Ruhr area - an exhibition of the LVR industrial museum provides impressive information about the foundation and development of the Eisenheim settlement and about the life and work of its residents.
 

Website URL

Address:

Berliner Strasse 10 A,
46117 Oberhausen LVR industrial museum
Tel: 02234 9921 555-  

Opening hours:

Sundays and public holidays from Easter Sunday to October 31: 10 a.m. - 17 p.m. and by appointment

looking for connection

Front view of Fort Holten in Oberhausen
Front view of Fort Holten in Oberhausen

 

The Holten fort from 1307 was once a typical border fortification. The still preserved east wing comes from the main castle, which was renovated in the 16th century. Today's use as a meeting place and training center for a rifle guild has a centuries-old tradition. In typical medieval form, a housing estate developed under the protection of the fort, the then town of Holten.

Address:

Kastellstrasse 58,
46147 Oberhausen

looking for connection

Two houses in the Grafenbusch settlement in Oberhausen
Two houses in the Grafenbusch settlement in Oberhausen

 

The Grafenbusch civil servants 'settlement, opposite Oberhausen Castle at the foot of the Gasometer, represents the socio-historical contrast to the conventional workers' settlements. The Gutehoffnungs-Hütte (GHH) had a settlement built here between 1910 and 1923 for its senior staff. A villa-like, upper-class settlement with a garden city character emerged.
 

Website URL

Address:

At the Grafenbusch,
46047 Oberhausen

looking for connection

Vondern Castle in Oberhausen
Vondern Castle in Oberhausen

 

Vondern Castle is today a mighty and picturesque outer bailey from the early 16th century and one of the oldest surviving structures in Oberhausen. Built by Wessel von Loe, it consists of a gate building flanked by two massive round towers with defensive-looking loopholes and late Gothic ornamental forms in cornices, windows and vaults. The main house dates from the late 17th century, the west facade of which can be assigned to the medieval predecessor building. The farm building on the south side was added in the 19th century.

Website URL

Address:

Arminstrasse 65,
46149 Oberhausen
Tel: 0208 894010

Opening hours:

Thu: 18 p.m. - 19 p.m.
Group tours on request, rental for private parties

looking for connection

View of houses in a settlement on Stemmersberg in Oberhausen
View of houses in a settlement on Stemmersberg in Oberhausen

 

The street names Gute-, Hoffnung-, Hütte-, Aktien- and Vereinstraße make it easy to guess the name of the client. Between the shafts I / III and IV of the Osterfeld colliery, Gutehoffnungshütte created a total of 1902 apartments in four-family houses with a cross plan in 1904 and 300. The same type of house can be found in the third construction phase of the Eisenheim housing estate (Eisenheim II), which was recently built. Behind the one-and-a-half-storey clinker brick buildings are the outbuildings on the other side of a footpath, in which, in addition to the stables, the (dry) toilets were also located. There are large garden plots in the interior of the street. The uniform geometric layout of the settlement is loosened up by the hilly nature of the terrain.

The buildings in Westerwaldstrasse and in the northern part of Hügelstrasse represent the changes in architectural style after the turn of the century. They stand out from the cubic clinker buildings of the core area with their gable formation, changing roof shapes and a varied facade design. The toddler school at Gutestrasse 19, which was built after the First World War according to plans by Bruno Möhring, is an eye-catcher and architectural highlight. The last extension in the south-eastern part of Hügelstrasse with groups of houses similar to garden cities also dates from this time. The Stemmersberg settlement is one of the largest and best preserved factory settlements in Oberhausen.

(Source: Route of Industrial Culture)

Website URL

Address:

Huettenstrasse
46117 Oberhausen

looking for connection

The Ripshorst house in Oberhausen
The Ripshorst house in Oberhausen

 

The information center for the Emscher Landscape Park has been housed in the buildings of the former Ripshorst farm since 1999. In an exhibition, the visitor is presented with the complexity of the Emscher Landscape Park with its idiosyncratic industrial nature, gigantic landmarks and many new parks. Haus Ripshorst is a documentation center, archive and ideas workshop at the same time.

Website URL

Address:

RVR Information Center Emscher Landscape Park
Ripshorster Str. 306, 46117 Oberhausen, Germany
Tel: 0208-8833483

Opening hours:

Tue-Sun: March - October 10 a.m. - 18 p.m., November - February 10 a.m. - 17 p.m.

looking for connection

The Haniel dump in Oberhausen
The Haniel dump in Oberhausen

 

The approximately 100 m high dump in the north of Oberhausen offers a wonderful view over the city, the neighboring coal mine area of ​​the Prosper-Haniel mine and the north-western Ruhr area.

At the highest point of the Haniel dump, there is an installation by the Spanish sculptor Augustin Ibarrola next to the “Bergarena” amphitheater. The work of art consists of a series of over 100 colored railway sleepers that look like totem poles.

It is also worth taking a walk to the summit along the 15-station Way of the Cross, which is unique in its kind.

Website URL

Address:

Kirchhellener Strasse
46145 Oberhausen

looking for connection