Stoag logo
Hotline24-hour HOTLINE: 0800 6 50 40 30** free of charge from all German networks

Honeycombs and tariff zones


The entire network area of ​​the VRR is divided into tariff areas and cells. Several cells together form a tariff area. Each honeycomb generally corresponds to a city district or a smaller municipality in terms of its spatial extent.

Tariff zones

A tariff area corresponds to one city or several smaller cities and municipalities. The major cities of Düsseldorf, Duisburg, Dortmund, Essen and Wuppertal each have two tariff zones. There are 73 tariff zones in the VRR, which are divided into 209 cells.

Network area VRR