Stoag logo
Hotline24-hour HOTLINE: 0800 6 50 40 30** free of charge from all German networks
Reach beautiful places with the STOAG

Beautiful places

STOAG - your partner for beautiful places

From the Middle Ages to the modern age, from aristocratic residences to romantic workers' estates in the Ruhr area, from fascinating industrial panoramas to lush green spaces - Oberhausen is versatile and has a variety of delicacies for different tastes. Regardless of whether you are a tourist or a local explorer, our drivers will take you straight to the most interesting and beautiful places in our city. Whether it's the Holten Fort from 1307 or the Rehberger Bridge "Slinky Springs to Fame", the youngest attraction in Oberhausen, the STOAG lines stop at all the city's sights for you! Just get in and be impressed!

 

Compiled for you: Our 12 top excursion tips

Oberhausen gasometer brightly colored at night
Oberhausen gasometer brightly colored at night

 

The Oberhausen gasometer in the CentrO is at the same time the city's landmark and a symbol of the structural change in the Ruhr area. The former coke oven gas storage facility, built in 1929, is today probably the most extraordinary exhibition hall in Europe. The gasometer itself is always an event. The inside of the steel giant offers a unique spatial experience. The 7 to 8-fold echo leaves the visitor amazed. A glass panoramic elevator inside the gasometer goes under the dome. The entire western Ruhr area lies at your feet from the roof. The steel giant has been voted one of the most popular places in Germany by viewers of the ZDF program "Our Best - The Germans' Favorite Places".

The Oberhausen Gasometer is currently closed due to urgently needed renovations. The next big exhibition is planned for spring 2021.

Website URL

Address:

Arenastr. 11, 46047 Oberhausen Tel: 0208 8503730

LOOKING FOR CONNECTION

Outside view of Oberhausen Castle with a work of art in the foreground
Outside view of Oberhausen Castle with a work of art in the foreground

 

Located in the romantic Kaisergarten and within walking distance of the Gasometer and CentrO, Oberhausen Castle is the place for fine arts in Oberhausen. In an ambitious, alternating exhibition program, the Ludwig Galerie located there presents loans from all over the world in the spacious rooms of the classical palace complex.

The Ludwig Collection, one of the largest private collections linked to Oberhausen via the international network of Ludwig museums is presented here under unusual and overarching themes. With gods, heroes and idols, 1998, the world of vessels - from antiquity to Picasso, 2005 or Living Stones - nature as an artist, in 2007 such exhibition projects received much attention from visitors and the press.

The popular gallery on the other hand, it is dedicated to the presentation of illustration, poster art, caricature, comics, photography, etc., which is commonly assigned to the applied area. Important positions such as Gottfried Helnwein and Manfred Deix, but also Wilhelm Busch were shown. Great photographers like Peter Lindbergh or Jim Rakete could and can be optimally staged in the spacious exhibition rooms.

The landmark gallery deals with the structural change in the region, the Ruhr area. Landmarks such as winding towers, chimneys or ironworks that once shaped the face of the district are disappearing. Others like the gasometer in Oberhausen or the winding tower of the Zechezollverein in Essen have become new landmarks. The exhibition projects and outdoor programs accompany this process.

Information on current exhibitions, opening times and admission prices can be found at:

Website URL

Address:

LUDWIGGALERIE Oberhausen Castle
Konrad-Adenauer-Allee 46,
46049 Oberhausen

looking for connection

The LVR Industrial Museum at dusk
The LVR Industrial Museum at dusk

 

The LVR-Industriemuseum Oberhausen, opposite the west exit of the Oberhausen main station, shows an exhibition on 150 years of iron and steel history on the Rhine and Ruhr. In the former rolling hall of the Altenberg zinc factory, nine exhibition units lead through the world of iron and the mining companies. The range of topics ranges from the emergence of the iron and steel industry around the middle of the 19th century, technical developments, working conditions, political and economic interdependencies in the industry in times of war and peace, to the structural change of our day.

The museum is currently closed due to renovation work until 20232. During this time, the Peter-Behrens-Bau is used for exhibitions.

Website URL

Address:

LVR industrial museum
Hansastrasse 20
46049 Oberhausen

Opening hours:

Tue - Sun: 10 a.m. - 17 p.m.

looking for connection

Front view of the Peter-Behrens-Bau in Oberhausen
Front view of the Peter-Behrens-Bau in Oberhausen

 

The central warehouse for Gutehoffnungshütte Oberhausen, completed in 1925, is one of the most striking industrial building complexes of the twenties. The Peter-Behrens-Bau - an industrial historical monument of European standing - houses the central depot of the LVR industrial museum on an area of ​​several thousand square meters.

Website URL

Address:

Essener Strasse 80
46047 Oberhausen
LVR industrial museum
Tel: 02234 9921 555-

looking for connection

View of the lake in the Kaisergarten Oberhausen
View of the lake in the Kaisergarten Oberhausen

 

The Kaisergarten is located in the middle of Oberhausen in picturesque surroundings. The 28 hectare park offers the whole family many opportunities to spend their free time. Forest and meadow areas, through which beautiful walking paths lead, blend harmoniously with the pond landscape and animal enclosure. More than 120 species of animals can be observed in the zoo - the petting zoo is particularly popular with children. There are also children's playgrounds and a pony riding track for the little ones. Entry to the Kaisergarten and the zoo is free.

Address:

Konrad-Adenauer-Allee 46,
46049 Oberhausen

looking for connection

 

From the Kaisergarten to the Emscher Island - "Slinky Springs to Fame": The bridge by the Frankfurt artist Tobias Rehberger is the youngest attraction in Oberhausen. The bridge sculpture in the Kaisergarten directly at Oberhausen Castle resembles a rope thrown over the water, light, wild and irregular - like a swinging spiral. At first glance, the 496 aluminum arches that strikingly enclose the 406-meter-long bridge over the Rhine-Herne Canal catch the eye. You are the namesake for "Slinky Springs to Fame". Rehberger had the famous spiral toy, the running spring "Slinky" - developed by the American mechanic Richard James by chance around 1945 - in mind when he submitted his first bridge design.
 

Website URL

Address:

Konrad-Adenauer-Allee 46,
46049 Oberhausen

looking for connection

Outside view of the St. Antony Hut in Oberhausen
Outside view of the St. Antony Hut in Oberhausen

 

A little hidden on the edge of Oberhausen-Osterfeld is a half-timbered building, which is picturesquely reflected in the pond of the Elpenbach. The visitor does not suspect heavy industry here, and yet he stands in front of the only remaining structural evidence of the St. Antony-Hütte, the "cradle of the Ruhr industry". Since 1758, not only pig iron has been produced at the St. Antony-Hütte. In the foundries and molding shops, cast goods for everyday use were also made. Today only the residential and office building that was built in the same year remains, the former home of the hut director, in which a permanent exhibition informs about the eventful history of the St. Antony hut: After all, the first ironworks in the Ruhr area is considered to be the nucleus of the global corporation GHH (Gute -Hope Hut).

In 2010 the opening of the first industrial archeological park in Germany followed, which made the excavations around the "cradle of the Ruhr industry" accessible to the public, protected from wind and weather by a daring steel roof.
 

Website URL

Address:

Antoniestrasse 32-34,
46119 Oberhausen
Tel: 02234 9921 555-

Opening hours:

Museum and Industrial Archaeological Park:
Tue - Fri: 10 a.m. - 17 p.m. Sat + Sun: 11 a.m. - 18 p.m.

looking for connection

Eisenheim Oberhausen
Eisenheim Oberhausen

 

The streets of the Eisenheim settlement with 39 original semi-detached houses offer an exciting insight into the way of life of the steelmakers in the Ruhr area at that time. In the Museum Eisenheim - formerly the wash house of this oldest workers' settlement in the Ruhr area - an exhibition of the LVR industrial museum provides impressive information about the foundation and development of the Eisenheim settlement and about the life and work of its residents.
 

Website URL

Address:

Berliner Strasse 10 A,
46117 Oberhausen LVR industrial museum
Tel: 02234 9921 555-  

Opening hours:

Sundays and public holidays from Easter Sunday to October 31: 10 a.m. - 17 p.m. and by appointment

looking for connection

Front view of Fort Holten in Oberhausen
Front view of Fort Holten in Oberhausen

 

The Holten fort from 1307 was once a typical border fortification. The still preserved east wing comes from the main castle, which was renovated in the 16th century. Today's use as a meeting place and training center for a rifle guild has a centuries-old tradition. In typical medieval form, a housing estate developed under the protection of the fort, the then town of Holten.

Address:

Kastellstrasse 58,
46147 Oberhausen

looking for connection

Two houses in the Grafenbusch settlement in Oberhausen
Two houses in the Grafenbusch settlement in Oberhausen

 

The Grafenbusch civil servants 'settlement, opposite Oberhausen Castle at the foot of the Gasometer, represents the socio-historical contrast to the conventional workers' settlements. The Gutehoffnungs-Hütte (GHH) had a settlement built here between 1910 and 1923 for its senior staff. A villa-like, upper-class settlement with a garden city character emerged.
 

Website URL

Address:

At the Grafenbusch,
46047 Oberhausen

looking for connection

Vondern Castle in Oberhausen
Vondern Castle in Oberhausen

 

Vondern Castle is today a mighty and picturesque outer bailey from the early 16th century and one of the oldest surviving structures in Oberhausen. Built by Wessel von Loe, it consists of a gate building flanked by two massive round towers with defensive-looking loopholes and late Gothic ornamental forms in cornices, windows and vaults. The main house dates from the late 17th century, the west facade of which can be assigned to the medieval predecessor building. The farm building on the south side was added in the 19th century.

Website URL

Address:

Arminstrasse 65,
46149 Oberhausen
Tel: 0208 894010

Opening hours:

Thu: 18 p.m. - 19 p.m.
Group tours on request, rental for private parties

looking for connection

View of houses in a settlement on Stemmersberg in Oberhausen
View of houses in a settlement on Stemmersberg in Oberhausen

 

The street names Gute-, Hoffnung-, Hütte-, Aktien- and Vereinstraße make it easy to guess the name of the client. Between the shafts I / III and IV of the Osterfeld colliery, Gutehoffnungshütte created a total of 1902 apartments in four-family houses with a cross plan in 1904 and 300. The same type of house can be found in the third construction phase of the Eisenheim housing estate (Eisenheim II), which was recently built. Behind the one-and-a-half-storey clinker brick buildings are the outbuildings on the other side of a footpath, in which, in addition to the stables, the (dry) toilets were also located. There are large garden plots in the interior of the street. The uniform geometric layout of the settlement is loosened up by the hilly nature of the terrain.

The buildings in Westerwaldstrasse and in the northern part of Hügelstrasse represent the changes in architectural style after the turn of the century. They stand out from the cubic clinker buildings of the core area with their gable formation, changing roof shapes and a varied facade design. The toddler school at Gutestrasse 19, which was built after the First World War according to plans by Bruno Möhring, is an eye-catcher and architectural highlight. The last extension in the south-eastern part of Hügelstrasse with groups of houses similar to garden cities also dates from this time. The Stemmersberg settlement is one of the largest and best preserved factory settlements in Oberhausen.

(Source: Route of Industrial Culture)

Website URL

Address:

Huettenstrasse
46117 Oberhausen

looking for connection

The Ripshorst house in Oberhausen
The Ripshorst house in Oberhausen

 

The information center for the Emscher Landscape Park has been housed in the buildings of the former Ripshorst farm since 1999. In an exhibition, the visitor is presented with the complexity of the Emscher Landscape Park with its idiosyncratic industrial nature, gigantic landmarks and many new parks. Haus Ripshorst is a documentation center, archive and ideas workshop at the same time.

Website URL

Address:

RVR Information Center Emscher Landscape Park
Ripshorster Str. 306, 46117 Oberhausen, Germany
Tel: 0208-8833483

Opening hours:

Tue-Sun: March - October 10 a.m. - 18 p.m., November - February 10 a.m. - 17 p.m.

looking for connection

The Haniel dump in Oberhausen
The Haniel dump in Oberhausen

 

The approximately 100 m high dump in the north of Oberhausen offers a wonderful view over the city, the neighboring coal mine area of ​​the Prosper-Haniel mine and the north-western Ruhr area.

At the highest point of the Haniel dump, there is an installation by the Spanish sculptor Augustin Ibarrola next to the “Bergarena” amphitheater. The work of art consists of a series of over 100 colored railway sleepers that look like totem poles.

It is also worth taking a walk to the summit along the 15-station Way of the Cross, which is unique in its kind.

Website URL

Address:

Kirchhellener Strasse
46145 Oberhausen

looking for connection

Stoag Logo
Hotline24-H-HOTLINE: 01806 504030** 0,20 € pro Anruf aus dem dt. Festnetz; 0,60 € pro Anruf aus den Mobilfunknetzen
Schöne Orte mit der STOAG erreichen

Schöne Orte

Die STOAG – Ihr Partner für schöne Orte

Vom Mittelalter bis in die Neuzeit, von Adelssitzen bis hin zu ruhrgebietsromantischen Arbeitersiedlungen, von faszinierenden Industriepanoramen bis hin zu satten Grünanlagen – Oberhausen ist vielseitig und hält abwechslungsreiche Erlebnisleckerbissen für unterschiedliche Geschmäcker bereit. Egal ob Tourist oder Heimatforscher, unsere Fahrerinnen und Fahrer bringen Sie direkt zu den interessantesten und schönsten Orten unserer Stadt. Ob das Kastell Holten aus dem Jahre 1307 oder die Rehberger Brücke „Slinky Springs to Fame“, die jüngste Attraktion Oberhausens, die STOAG-Linien machen an allen Sehenswürdigkeiten der Stadt für Sie Halt!  Steigen Sie einfach ein und lassen sich beeindrucken!

 

Für Sie zusammengestellt: Unsere 12 Top-Ausflugstipps

Gasometer Oberhausen leuchtend Bunt bei Nacht
Gasometer Oberhausen leuchtend Bunt bei Nacht

 

Der Gasometer Oberhausen im CentrO ist zugleich Wahrzeichen der Stadt und Symbol für den Strukturwandel des Ruhrgebiets. Der 1929 erbaute ehemalige Kokereigasspeicher ist heute die wohl außergewöhnlichste Ausstellungshalle Europas. Auch der Gasometer selber ist immer wieder ein Ereignis. Das Innere des Stahlgiganten bietet ein einzigartiges Raumerlebnis. Das 7 bis 8-fache Echo lässt den Besucher beeindruckt staunen. Ein gläserner Panoramaaufzug im Inneren des Gasometers fährt bis unter die Kuppel. Vom Dach liegt einem sodann das gesamte westliche Ruhrgebiet zu Füßen. Der Stahlgigant ist von den Zuschauern der ZDF-Sendung "Unsere Besten - die Lieblingsorte der Deutschen" zu den beliebtesten Orten in Deutschland gewählt worden.

Derzeit ist der Gasometer Oberhausen wegen dringend notwendiger Sanierungen geschlossen. Die nächste große Ausstellung ist für Frühjahr 2021 geplant.

Website

Anschrift:

Arenastr. 11, 46047 Oberhausen Tel: 0208 8503730

VERBINDUNG SUCHEN

Blick von außen auf das Schloss Oberhausen mit Kunstwerk im Vordergrund
Blick von außen auf das Schloss Oberhausen mit Kunstwerk im Vordergrund

 

Im romantischen Kaisergarten und fußläufig zum Gasometer und CentrO gelegen, ist das Schloss Oberhausen der Ort für bildende Kunst in Oberhausen. In einem ambitionierten, sich abwechselnden Ausstellungsprogramm präsentiert die dort ansässige Ludwig Galerie in den großzügigen Räumen der klassizistischen Schlossanlage Leihgaben aus aller Welt.

Die Sammlung Ludwig, eine der größten Privatsammlungen, die über das internationale Netz der Ludwig Museen mit Oberhausen verbunden ist, wird hier unter ungewöhnlichen und übergreifenden Themen vorgestellt. Mit Götter, Helden und Idole, 1998, Die Welt der Gefäße – von der Antike bis Picasso, 2005 oder Living Stones – Die Natur als Künstlerin, 2007 sind solche Ausstellungsprojekte von Besuchern und Presse vielbeachtet durchgeführt worden.

Die populäre Galerie dagegen widmet sich der Präsentation von Illustration, Plakatkunst, Karikatur, Comic, Fotografie u.ä., was gemeinhin dem angewandten Bereich zugerechnet wird. Wichtige Positionen wie Gottfried Helnwein und Manfred Deix, aber auch Wilhelm Busch wurden gezeigt. Große Fotografen wie Peter Lindbergh oder Jim Rakete konnten und können in den großzügigen Ausstellungsräumen optimal inszeniert werden.

Die Landmarkengalerie beschäftigt sich mit dem Strukturwandel der Region, des Ruhrgebiets. Landmarken wie Fördertürme, Schornsteine oder Hüttenwerke, die einst das Gesicht des Reviers prägten, verschwinden. Andere wie der Gasometer in Oberhausen oder der Förderturm der Zechezollverein in Essen sind zu neuen Wahrzeichen geworden. Die Ausstellungsprojekte und Outdoorprogramme begleiten diesen Prozess.

Informationen zu aktuellen Ausstellungen, Öffnungszeiten und Eintrittspreisen finden Sie unter:

Website

Anschrift:

LUDWIGGALERIE Schloss Oberhausen
Konrad-Adenauer-Allee 46,
46049 Oberhausen

Verbindung suchen

Das LVR Industriemuseum bei Abenddämmerung
Das LVR Industriemuseum bei Abenddämmerung

 

Das LVR-Industriemuseum Oberhausen, gegenüber dem Westausgang des Oberhausener Hauptbahnhofs, zeigt eine Ausstellung über 150 Jahre Eisen- und Stahlgeschichte an Rhein und Ruhr. In der ehemaligen Walzhalle der Zinkfabrik Altenberg führen neun Ausstellungseinheiten durch die Welt des Eisens und der Montankonzerne. Die Themenpalette reicht von der Entstehung der Eisen- und Stahlindustrie um die Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts über die technischen Entwicklungen, Arbeitsbedingungen, politischen und wirtschaftlichen Verflechtungen der Branche in Zeiten von Krieg und Frieden bis hin zum Strukturwandel unserer Tage.

Zurzeit ist das Museum wegen Umbauarbeiten bis voraussichtlich 20232 geschlossen. In dieser Zeit wird der Peter-Behrens-Bau für Ausstellungen genutzt.

Website

Anschrift:

LVR-Industriemuseum
Hansastraße 20
46049 Oberhausen

Öffnungszeiten:

Di – So: 10 -17 Uhr

Verbindung suchen

Frontansicht des Peter-Behrens-Bau in Oberhausen
Frontansicht des Peter-Behrens-Bau in Oberhausen

 

Das 1925 fertiggestellte Zentralmagazin für die Gutehoffnungshütte Oberhausen stellt eines der markantesten Industriegebäudekomplexe der Zwanziger Jahre dar. Der Peter-Behrens-Bau – ein industriehistorisches Baudenkmal von europäischem Rang – beherbergt hier auf einer Fläche von mehreren tausend Quadratmetern das Zentraldepot des LVR-Industriemuseums.

Website

Anschrift:

Essener Straße 80
46047 Oberhausen
LVR-Industriemuseum
Tel: 02234 9921-555

Verbindung suchen

Blick auf den See im Kaisergarten Oberhausen
Blick auf den See im Kaisergarten Oberhausen

 

Mitten in Oberhausen liegt in malerischer Umgebung der Kaisergarten. Der rund 28 ha große Park bietet für die ganze Familie viele Möglichkeiten zur Freizeitgestaltung. Wald- und Wiesenflächen, durch die schöne Spazierwege führen, fügen sich mit Teichlandschaft und Tiergehege harmonisch zusammen. Im Zoogelände können mehr als 120 Tierarten beobachtet werden - besonders beliebt bei den Kindern ist der Streichelzoo. Außerdem stehen für die Kleinen Kinderspielplätze und Ponyreitbahn zur Verfügung. Der Eintritt in den Kaisergarten und in den Zoo ist frei.

Anschrift:

Konrad-Adenauer-Allee 46,
46049 Oberhausen

Verbindung suchen

 

Vom Kaisergarten zur Emscherinsel - „Slinky Springs to Fame“: Die Brücke des Frankfurter Künstlers Tobias Rehberger ist die jüngste Attraktion in Oberhausen. Die Brückenskulptur im Kaisergarten direkt am Schloss Oberhausen ähnelt einem über das Wasser geworfenen Seil, leicht, wild und unregelmäßig - einer schwingenden Spirale gleich. Auf den ersten Blick fallen die 496 Aluminiumbögen ins Auge, die die 406 Meter lange Brücke über den Rhein-Herne-Kanal markant umhüllen. Sie sind Namensgeber für „Slinky Springs to Fame“. Rehberger hatte das berühmte Spiralspielzeug, die laufende Feder „Slinky“ - um 1945 eher zufällig vom amerikanischen Mechaniker Richard James entwickelt - im Sinn, als er seinen ersten Brückenentwurf einreichte.
 

Website

Anschrift:

Konrad-Adenauer-Allee 46,
46049 Oberhausen

Verbindung suchen

Blick von außen auf die St. Antony Hütte in Oberhausen
Blick von außen auf die St. Antony Hütte in Oberhausen

 

Ein wenig versteckt am Rande von Oberhausen-Osterfeld liegt ein Fachwerkgebäude, das sich malerisch im Teich des Elpenbachs spiegelt. Schwerindustrie vermutet der Besucher hier nicht, und doch steht er vor dem einzig erhaltenen baulichen Zeugnis der St. Antony-Hütte, der „Wiege der Ruhrindustrie“. Seit 1758 wurde auf der St. Antony-Hütte nicht nur Roheisen erzeugt. In den Gießereien und Formereien entstanden auch Gusswaren für den täglichen Bedarf. Heute steht nur noch das im selben Jahr errichtete Wohn- und Kontorgebäude, das frühere Wohnhaus des Hüttendirektors, in dem eine Dauerausstellung über die wechselvolle Geschichte der St. Antony-Hütte informiert: Immerhin gilt die erste Eisenhütte im Ruhrgebiet als Keimzelle des Weltkonzerns GHH (Gute-Hoffnungs-Hütte).

2010 folgte die Eröffnung des ersten industriearchäologischen Parks Deutschlands, der die durch ein gewagt konstruiertes Stahldach vor Wind und Wetter geschützten Ausgrabungen rund um die "Wiege der Ruhrindustrie" für das Publikum zugänglich macht.
 

Website

Anschrift:

Antoniestraße 32-34,
46119 Oberhausen
Tel: 02234 9921-555

Öffnungszeiten:

Museum und Industriearchäologischer Park:
Di - Fr: 10 - 17 Uhr. Sa + So: 11 -18 Uhr

Verbindung suchen

Eisenheim Oberhausen
Eisenheim Oberhausen

 

Die Straßenzüge der Siedlung Eisenheim mit 39 original erhaltenen Doppelhäusern bieten einen spannenden Einblick in die damalige Lebensweise der Stahlkocher im Ruhrgebiet. Im Museum Eisenheim – ehemals Waschhaus dieser ältesten Arbeitersiedlung des Ruhrgebiets – informiert eine Ausstellung des LVR-Industriemuseums eindrucksvoll über Gründung und Entwicklung der Siedlung Eisenheim und über Leben und Arbeit ihrer Bewohner.
 

Website

Anschrift:

Berliner Str. 10 A,
46117 Oberhausen LVR-Industriemuseum
Tel: 02234 9921-555  

Öffnungszeiten:

Sonn- und Feiertags von Ostersonntag bis 31. Oktober: 10 - 17 Uhr und nach Voranmeldung

Verbindung suchen

Frontansicht des Kastells Holten in Oberhausen
Frontansicht des Kastells Holten in Oberhausen

 

Das Kastell Holten aus dem Jahre 1307 war einst eine typische Grenzwehranlage. Der noch erhaltene Ostflügel stammt von der im 16. Jahrhundert erneuerten Hauptburg. Die heutige Nutzung als Versammlungs- und Übungsstätte einer Schützengilde hat also eine jahrhundertelange Tradition. In typisch mittelalterlicher Form entwickelte sich im Schutz des Kastells eine Wohnsiedlung, die damalige Stadt Holten.

Anschrift:

Kastellstraße 58,
46147 Oberhausen

Verbindung suchen

Zwei Häuser der Siedlung Grafenbusch in Oberhausen
Zwei Häuser der Siedlung Grafenbusch in Oberhausen

 

Die Beamtensiedlung Grafenbusch, gegenüber von Schloss Oberhausen am Fuße des Gasometers gelegen, stellt den sozialhistorischen Gegensatz zu den herkömmlichen Arbeitersiedlungen dar. Die Gutehoffnungs-Hütte (GHH) ließ hier zwischen 1910 und 1923 eine Siedlung für ihre leitenden Mitarbeiter schaffen. Es entstand eine villenartige, großbürgerliche Siedlung mit Gartenstadt-Charakter.
 

Website

Anschrift:

Am Grafenbusch,
46047 Oberhausen

Verbindung suchen

Burg Vondern in Oberhausen
Burg Vondern in Oberhausen

 

Die Burg Vondern ist heute eine ebenso mächtige wie malerische Vorburg aus dem frühen 16. Jh. und mit das älteste erhaltene Bauwerk in Oberhausen. Von Wessel von Loe erbaut, besteht sie aus einem von zwei massiven Rundtürmen flankierten Torbau mit wehrhaft anmutenden Schießscharten und spätgotischen Zierformen in Gesimsen, Fenstern und Gewölben. Aus dem späten 17. Jh. stammt das Haupthaus, dessen Westfassade wohl dem mittelalterlichen Vorgängerbau zuzuordnen ist. Das Wirtschaftsgebäude auf der Südseite ist im 19. Jh. dazu gekommen.

Website

Anschrift:

Arminstr. 65,
46149 Oberhausen
Tel: 0208 894010

Öffnungszeiten:

Do: 18 - 19 Uhr
Gruppenführungen auf Anfrage, Vermietung für private Feiern

Verbindung suchen

Blick auf Häuser einer Siedlung am Stemmersberg in Oberhausen
Blick auf Häuser einer Siedlung am Stemmersberg in Oberhausen

 

Die Straßennamen Gute-, Hoffnung-, Hütte-, Aktien- und Vereinstraße lassen leicht den Namen des Bauherrn erraten. Zwischen den Schächten I/III und IV der Zeche Osterfeld schuf die Gutehoffnungshütte 1902 und 1904 insgesamt 300 Wohnungen in Vierfamilienhäusern mit Kreuzgrundriss. Der gleiche Haustyp findet sich im kurz zuvor erstellten dritten Bauabschnitt der Siedlung Eisenheim (Eisenheim II). Hinter den eineinhalbgeschossigen Klinkerbauten stehen jenseits eines Fußweges die Nebengebäude, in denen sich außer den Ställen auch die (Trocken-)Toiletten befanden. Im Inneren der Straßengevierte liegen große Gartengrundstücke. Der gleichförmige geometrische Siedlungsgrundriss wird durch die hügelige Beschaffenheit des Geländes aufgelockert.

Für die Veränderungen im Baustil nach der Jahrhundertwende stehen die Gebäude in der Westerwaldstraße und im nördlichen Teil der Hügelstraße. Sie heben sich durch Giebelbildung, wechselnde Dachformen und eine abwechslungsreiche Fassadengestaltung von den kubischen Klinkerbauten des Kernbereichs ab. Einen Blickfang und architektonischen Höhepunkt bildet die Kleinkinderschule in der Gutestraße 19, die nach dem Ersten Weltkrieg nach Plänen von Bruno Möhring erbaut wurde. Aus dieser Zeit stammt auch die letzte Erweiterung im südöstlichen Teil an der Hügelstraße mit gartenstadtähnlichen Häusergruppen. Die Siedlung Stemmersberg gehört zu den größten und am besten erhaltenen Werksiedlungen in Oberhausen.

(Quelle: Route der Industriekultur)

Website

Anschrift:

Hüttenstraße
46117 Oberhausen

Verbindung suchen

Das Haus Ripshorst in Oberhausen
Das Haus Ripshorst in Oberhausen

 

In den Gebäuden des ehemaligen Bauernhofes Haus Ripshorst ist seit 1999 das Informationszentrum für den Emscher Landschaftspark untergebracht. In einer Ausstellung präsentiert sich dem Besucher die Vielschichtigkeit des Emscher Landschaftsparks mit seiner eigenwilligen Industrienatur, den gigantischen Landmarken und vielen neuen Parks. Das Haus Ripshorst ist Dokumentationszentrum, Archiv und Ideenwerkstatt zugleich.

Website

Anschrift:

RVR Informationszentrum Emscher Landschaftspark
Ripshorster Str. 306, 46117 Oberhausen
Tel: 0208-8833483

Öffnungszeiten:

Di-So: März - Oktober 10-18 Uhr, November - Februar 10-17 Uhr

Verbindung suchen

Die Halde Haniel in Oberhausen
Die Halde Haniel in Oberhausen

 

Die rund 100 m hohe Halde im Norden von Oberhausen bietet einenwunderbaren Blick über die Stadt, das benachbarte Zechengelände des Bergwerks Prosper-Haniel und das nordwestliche Ruhrgebiet.

Auf dem höchsten Punkt der Halde Haniel befindet sich neben dem Amphitheater „Bergarena“ auch eine Installation des spanischen Bildhauers Augustin Ibarrola. Das Kunstwerk besteht aus einer Reihe von über 100 farbig gestalteten Bahnschwellen, die wie Totempfähle wirken.

Lohnenswert ist auch ein Spaziergang zum Gipfel über den in seiner Art einzigartigen 15 Stationen langen Kreuzweg.

Website

Anschrift:

Kirchhellener Straße
46145 Oberhausen

Verbindung suchen